How to walk through table (by row)

I’m new to WebTestIt and rather new to Protractor. Is there a good reference for basic operations? I’m trying to walk through a table and if one column contains a particular text string then it clicks a link in another column.

I can’t seem to figure this out. In Python, I would just loop through the collection of

elements and look for the text.

Thanks,

Hello @Delghing,

could you share your python script (a dummied down version will also do it) and potentially the markup/site you’re testing against so we can take a closer look.

Without knowing your concrete example, in general lots of it might be expressed with a XPath. So take as an example the Example 1 table from this site. Imagine you know that the website of your target row is called http://www.jdoe.com and that one you’d like to edit by pressing the edit button next to it.
So the XPath for the website target cell would be

/html//div[@id='content']/div/table[1]//td[.='http://www.jdoe.com']

now all we need to go is traverse one back to the parent by using .. which brings us back to the grouping tr and from there on we search deep for an anchor with the text edit.
The resulting query might look like:

/html//div[@id='content']/div/table[1]//td[.='http://www.jdoe.com']/..//a[.='edit']

Here’s also a video how you can use Ranorex Selocity for tweaking your selectors and step by step building above example

Thank you for the prompt reply. Below is an example of something I have recently written in Python.
If needed I can mock one up that that is publicly accessible.

The idea is pretty simple, using the xpath I find the tbody element and make that a variable. Then I search that variable for all the css selector’s